4 players Honoured With Padma Shri Award Including Bajrang Punia


Share this

Indian President Ramnath Kovind awarded the Padma Shri awards to our four players, including wrestler Bajrang Punia on Monday. These awards were given to them at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Table Tennis player Achint Sharat Kamal, Kabaddi player Ajay Thakur and chess player Harika Dronavalli were also awarded the Padma Shri.

Bajrang Punia won the gold medal in the Commonwealth and Asian Games in 2018 and also reached number one in the World Rankings in its 65 kg freestyle category.

He has also won a silver medal in the world championship. Sarat won four gold in the Commonwealth Games in table tennis, Harika Dronavalli chess and Ajay Thakur gave India new heights in Kabaddi.

Indian Wrestling Federation (WFI) gave a check for 6 lakh 75 thousand to Bajrang Punia from Haryana.

Under this, Mr. Brijbhushan Saran Singh, President of Indian Wrestling Association, expressed his happiness over meeting Bajrang to Padmashree said that today India has the highest expectation of winning a medal on the Bajrang 2020 Olympics.

President Ramnath Kovind gave 55 Padma Shri Awards on Monday, including Eight Padma Vibhushan. In 1984, Bachendri Pal, the first Indian woman to be Climbed Mount Everest, was honored with Padmabhushan.

Read Latest Sports News on Sports-Newz


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *